Slow cooker favorites

Trying to write this post made me realize 2 things: 1. How much I love my slow cooker. I think it is probably one of the greatest inventions ever. 2. I need to do a better job storing/organizing my recipes. The amount of time it took me to find the originals of some of these is pathetic. Even my pinterest boards didn’t help. Might make getting my recipes organized a new goal for this month.

Now that that is out of the way; here are my top 5 slow cooker recipes:

Bacon chicken: Rex is a bacon fanatic, so when I saw this recipe I knew I had to try it out. The first time I made this I realized I didn’t have any chicken breasts, so I used thighs and it still came out great.

Carnitas: We eat tacos every Thursday, it’s our “Taco Tuesday” and it is a rare day if I actually make ground beef/chicken/turkey, it is almost always carnitas. That being said, we haven’t grown tired of them so I think it is a winner of a recipe. AND even more importantly, making 1 round of this recipe usually keeps us good on carnitas for a month or so. I usually make them with pork as the recipe says, but it still tastes great with chicken.

Santa Fe Chicken: Prior to starting Whole30, this was probably our #1 meal. We would put it on top of rice with cheese. I haven’t had it in awhile, but I think I might have to make it and put on potatoes or something instead of rice because it is tasty.

Sweet potato coconut milk chicken curry: Lots of words in the title, but boy oh boy is this one good. I mean, how could you go wrong with sweet potatoes or curry or coconut milk? This recipe and chili might be the only two reasons I am excited for colder weather.

Lamb with root veggies: We don’t eat a ton of lamb because it is pretty expensive, but we love it and pick it up if it is on sale or for special occasions, like Easter when we made this the first time. I am obsessed with parsnips, so any recipe with parsnips will probably be good in my book.

I also love using the slow cooker to make broth with, but I definitely do not use a recipe for that one.

What are some of your favorite slow-cooker recipes?

Leave a Reply

