Book Report August

One of my year-long goals for 2016 is to read 52 books. That (obviously) breaks down to a book a week. As I write this post we are in week 35 of the year and I just finished my 35th book, so I am right on track (though August was less of a reading month than many others have been).

Here are the books I read in August:

The Nest: I had been on the hold list at the library for this book since May and finally got it at the end of July. I flew through it (probably 36 hours)! It was easy to read and I wanted to keep reading to find out what was going to happen in the lives of all of the Plumb siblings.

Tiny Beautiful Things: This is my first nonfiction of the month. I am not quite sure what to say about it. I didn’t love it, didn’t hate it. It took me way longer to read than a book of that length usually would and I think it is because each letter could stand alone so I never felt the urge to keep reading to find out something new in the plot. Oh well, you can’t love every book.

The Sense of an Ending: Rex asked me what I thought of this one and my response of “the author did a lot in 160 pages” seems accurate. It was a great book to follow Tiny Beautiful Things. I didn’t want to put it down and honestly aside from the first 15 pages that I read before friends came to town to visit I read the book in an afternoon.

Pilgrim at Tinker Creek: I really wanted to love this book and it seems like I should have- I love nature, I love nonfiction, I love first person narrative. However, I had a hard time getting through it. It might be because the words were too beautiful and I got swept up in imagining what she was saying, but I am not sure. Maybe just not the right time for me to read this one?

I am definitely looking for some fun & fast paced books to add to the list now that my days are fuller. If you have any good suggestions let me know in the comments.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

