Weekly prep

Going back to work after any extended break is difficult. Starting 2 new jobs after not having to physically go to work for almost 6 months is going to be something else. I am so excited for both of my new jobs to start and to get back into some sort of routine. I feel really lucky that I have a few weeks that aren’t a full schedule to ease myself back in and figure out how best to organize my life.

This week I have a few things with both jobs, a wedding, a birthday party in New York, a hike, and hopefully brewing some beer, so I thought it would be a good time to test out some of my organizational ideas.

First things first getting it all down on paper in my Get To Work Book. I can’t even begin to explain how much I love this planner. I have wanted one since the first edition, but at the time I didn’t have the money to justify $55 for a planner. Then, one beautiful July day, out of the blue one arrived at my door. Dear Rex bought me one as a surprise after having heard me lust after it for some time (side note/funny story: one time I went to show Rex a GTWB instagram post and he thought it said “ghetto work book” so it has been a joke since then).

gtwb

I have been doing all of my dinner meal planning on the top line and then workouts on the second, thinking that I should definitely be eating dinner and working out every day.

Then I have decided to color code with highlighter for my different jobs. This is my first week of doing that hence the key on the bottom. I also hate having to cross out in pen, so until something is confirmed it goes into the book in pencil. I know, I am weird.

gtwb week

The mornings are the hardest for me and our usual breakfast takes way too much time to be making every morning before work, so I prepped another one of the breakfast casseroles. That should save me a LOT of time in the morning.

I also made a big batch of coffee so I can have iced coffee in the morning with little to no effort.

coffee

And I did my meal plan, trying to have easier meals when I will be working later and relying more on the crock pot than I had been. I am planning to share my favorite crock pot recipes in September, so keep an eye out for that.

Last, but definitely not least- I made sure all of my clothes were clean / ironed for M-F. I need to do some serious closet soul searching to figure out what I have to wear to work now that yoga pants and a sports bra aren’t going to fly. I think I may even start planning my outfits for the week and putting them in my GTWB to save even more time.

Oh, and I wrote this post. Ahead of time and scheduled it to post in the morning like a big girl blogger.

Leave a Reply

