WIAW: House guest edition

**I had hoped to get this post written and ready to go for Wednesday morning so I could join the WIAW linkup, but I failed. Luckily, it was for a good reason- I had a training for (one of) my new job(s) and then never actually hit publish. Fail fail fail. **

After this post I promise I’ll stop talking about Musikfest. At least till next year.

Since we are a hop, skip, and a jump from the fun of Musikfest, we invited a bunch of Rex’s high school friends to visit during the festival and I am so happy they came. That being said, I knew I was going to have to have my act together to feed 4 men and myself during a weekend of much drinking and little sleep.

Luckily, one of the local supermarkets was having their one-day meat sale on Thursday before the guys came to town. Rex and I stocked up on sausage (1.79/lb!!!), beef, chicken, and propane for the grill.

Since everyone knows breakfast is the most important meal of the day (and the morning is not my best hour) I decided that instead of cooking our normal breakfast every morning I would make a few breakfast casseroles that I could just pop in the oven and reheat the day of.

breakfast casserole

The left has all the ingredients but eggs (potatoes, sweet potatoes, sausage, peppers, onions) and the right has the eggs in it. For whatever reason there are no pictures to be found of the casseroles after their trip to the oven?

I also made a HUGE batch of carnitas from this recipe. By huge I mean 10lbs worth of pork shoulder. I think I reached the capacity in my slow cooker.

carnitas.JPG

Threw them on some soft tacos and we were good to go. We had these for one of our late lunches and also as some drunk food after we got home.

For dinners we threw anything and everything on the grill. Do I have any pictures? Nope! But, I have a picture of some pasta sauce we didn’t eat

sauce.JPG

and a sweet picture of sausage on the grill Rex took another time we had sausage. Sausage kind of all looks the same though, right?

sausage

Promise to do better next week!

❤ Morgan

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

